top of page

Kappa Alpha Omicron

Induction Ceremony Fall 2020.JPG
Dr. Leslie Sherman, Iota mentor at Washington College
2020 Mu Induction Ceremony at Birmingham-Southern College
zeta chapter maine group photo.JPG

2019 Zeta Induction Ceremony at Southern  Maine University

 KAO has 14 active chapters across the US and is eager to grow its international community. The society's purpose can be found within the Greek letters that make up its name: Kosmos (universe), Anthropos (humanity), and Oikos (household). We believe these three perspectives can be used to approach today's biggest environmental challenges. KAO is designed to offer university students and faculty academic support from a scholarly network of professionals across the globe in the growing field of interdisciplinary environmental studies. Chapters attend the IEA's academic conference, participate in chapter challenges and events, and have the opportunity to publish research with the IEA.
Students and advisors are expected to engage with the IEA by sharing society updates, projects, and activities with the IEA community. Students are expected to participate in chapter and online KAO events, in addition to developing chapter research and projects focused on environmental needs that are specific to the KAO chapter and their community.

  • Beta: Bethune-Cookman University 

  • Chi: University of North Florida

  • Delta: Marietta College

  • Eta: Methodist University

  • Iota: Washington College

  • Kappa: Doane University

  • Lamda: Elon University

  • Lamda: State University of New York- Potsdam

  • Mu: Birmingham Southern College

  • Nu: Manhattan College

  • Omega: Carthage College

  • Rho: Rhodes College

  • Theta: Dillard University

  • Zeta: University of Southern Maine

Kappa Alpha Omicron Honor Society 2023 Chapters

Inductees at Washington College
KAO People.jpg

2019 Kappa Induction Ceremony at Doane University. 

bottom of page