top of page
  • Writer's pictureIEA

Zeta President, Hailey Janelle, reflects on 2019 KAO Induction Ceremony.

Updated: Apr 19, 2022

Last Thursday, December 12th was the annual induction ceremony for the Zeta Chapter of the Kappa Alpha Omicron Honor Society for the University of Southern Maine. This year, 9 outstanding students from the Environmental Science and Policy department were inducted. The night started with some light refreshments and mingling then moved into the main ceremony. After a brief introduction to the honor society, faculty advisor to the KAO chapter, Dr. Daniel Martínez, as well as myself, and Jenna Grossbarth, the current President and Vice President of the chapter, started the induction process. One by one, the inductees were called to the front of the room while a brief biography about their educational or professional aspirations and accomplishments was read. They each received a certificate and a candle that was “lit” from the chapter candle. In order to stay environmentally friendly, an LED candle was used for this in place of a real candle. After all inductees were called, the KAO pledge was collectively read and the inductees became lifetime members of the Kappa Alpha Omicron honor society in interdisciplinary environmental sciences and studies. The evening was a light and fun and full of laughter and impressive accomplishments. Congratulations to all inductees and good luck on future academic and professional pursuits!

Back row- Emily Hotham, Julie Gourlay, Hunter Johnson, Daniel Hutchings, Brooke Connolly

Front row-Sam Harden, Kristin Benson, Alayna McNally, Michelle Radley

59 views0 comments


bottom of page